Fundamental Analysis of the Machining Process of a Composite Material Made of Concrete and CFRP with Diamond Grinding Tools

Although concrete is able to bear high compressive loads, its possibility to withstand tensile loads is very low. Hence, in construction elements steel bars are embedded as reinforcement. To avoid corrosion, a thick concrete covering of the steel bars is necessary. The new composite material made of carbon fibre reinforced plastic (CFRP) and high-performance concrete offers an alternative possibility and provides the opportunity for thinner and lighter construction elements. Advantages of the new construction material compared to reinforced concrete are, among others, corrosion resistance, conserving resources and new possibilities in the design of constructions.

According to recent developments in the construction industry and existing research programs it can be assumed that the amount of CFRP reinforced concrete elements will increase in the next few years. Assuming that each construction will be rebuild or demolished during its life cycle, there is a need for efficient machining of this construction material. As the impact of the CFRP elements on the machining process have not yet been researched, this project will analyse the basic interrelationships in machining based on model experiments. Metal bonded diamond tools are used for machining the new composite material as is customary for the machining of concrete. The combination of the different materials with their inhomogeneous material properties places particular demands on the development of diamond tools for the machining of the composite material carbon concrete.

The research project comprises an analysis of the material separation of the new construction material by diamond tools as well as the mechanisms acting through the phase change between CFRP and concrete. Scratch tests are a fundamental testing method to understand the general mechanism of material removal. Therefore single grain scratch tests will be carried out to analyse the elementary interdependencies of the machining process. The knowledge of single grain scratch tests and multi grain single segment tests can be used for the optimisation of the machining process of the multiphase material CRFP reinforced concrete. Based on the quantitative and qualitative results of single grain scratch tests and multigrain single segment tests, process models of core drilling processes will be generated. Hence, these investigations constitute the fundamental basis for the development of efficient diamond tools for the machining of CFRP reinforced concrete.

Fig.:Levels of analysis of the research project “Machining process of CFRP reinforced concrete”

Contact

Grundlagenuntersuchung zum Zerspanungsverhalten eines Verbundmaterials aus Beton und CFK mit Diamantschleifwerkzeugen

Betonwerkstoffe sind in der Lage, hohe Druckbelastungen aufzunehmen. Dagegen können Betonelemente nur geringe Zugbelastungen ertragen und werden daher durch Stahlbewehrungen verstärkt. Doch Stahl ist korrosions-anfällig, weshalb eine entsprechende Mindestbetondeckung notwendig ist. Aus Gründen der Nachhaltigkeit, neuer Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten und Einsatz¬gebiete wird aktuell der neue Bau- und Verbundwerkstoff Carbonbeton als Alternative zu Stahlbeton entwickelt. Carbonbeton ist ein Materialverbund bestehend aus hochfestem Beton und Bewehrungselementen aus kohlenstoff-faserverstärktem Kunststoff (CFK).

Entsprechend der bisherigen Entwicklungen und Forschungsarbeiten ist davon auszugehen, dass der Anteil von Bewehrungselementen aus CFK in der Bauindustrie in Zukunft stark zunehmen wird. Unter der Annahme, dass jedes Bauwerk mit der Zeit einen Um- oder Rückbau erfährt, ergibt sich die Erfordernis einer effizienten Zerspanung dieses Konstruktionswerkstoffes. Da die Auswir¬kungen der Bewehrungselemente auf den Zerspanungsprozess des Carbon¬betons noch nicht erforscht sind, werden im Rahmen dieses Projektes die grundlegenden Zusammenhänge bei der Zerspanung anhand von Modellversuchen an CFK bewehrtem Beton analysiert. Zur Bearbeitung des neuartigen Verbundwerkstoffes sollen, wie bei der trennenden Bearbeitung von Stahlbeton üblich, metallisch gebundene Diamantwerkzeuge Verwendung finden. Die Kombination der verschiedenen Werkstoffe mit ihren jeweils inhomogenen Materialeigenschaften stellt besondere Anforderungen an die Entwicklung der Diamantwerkzeuge zur trennenden Bearbeitung des Verbundwerkstoffes Carbonbeton.

Das Forschungsvorhaben beinhaltet sowohl eine Analyse des Zerspanungs-prozesses des neuen Konstruktionswerkstoffes durch metallisch gebundene Diamantschleifwerkzeuge als auch der wirkenden Mechanismen durch den Phasenwechsel zwischen CFK-Bewehrung und Beton. Aufgrund der Zusammensetzung des Verbundwerkstoffes aus mehreren Einzelkomponenten sind die grundlegenden Erkenntnisse der Materialtrennmechanismen der Einzelphasen sowie des mehrphasigen Verbundwerkstoffes zuerst auf Einzel¬kornebene zu untersuchen. Aufbauend auf diesen Grundlagen können im Anschluss die Ergebnisse der Einzelkornversuche auf Einzelsegmente übertragen und Rückschlüsse auf das Einsatzverhalten gezogen werden. Durch eine Betrachtung der gesamten Wirkkette vom Einzelkorn über Einzelsegmente bis zur Bohrkrone mit mehreren Schleifsegmenten wird somit das grundlegende Wissen über die Wirkzusammenhänge bei der spanenden Bearbeitung von CFK-bewehrtem Beton geschaffen. Die qualitativen und quantitativen Ergeb¬nisse dienen als Ausgangsbasis für die Entwicklung effizienter Diamantwerk¬zeuge für die Zerspanung.

Abb.: Detailebenen des Forschungsvorhabens „Zerspanung von Carbonbeton“

Ansprechpartner